Tuesday, April 5, 2011

Track star!

The ever strenuous live of a track star. All the glory. All the fame. All the screaming fans...
   Okay, so none of that has happened to me (and probably never will :D ). Yes basketball is long over, and the great season of track and field has begun. The first track meet was last week Friday in Aberdeen, and Aberdeen Christian did decently well. When I say 'decently well', I basically mean that every one else did good save this failing writer. The meet was still fun. I was in the 400 meter dash (more like a weak limp than a dash for me), the 4x400 meter relay (my team got last by .1 second), and the running long jump (err short jump). In the open 400 I ran a 1:07, and in the relay I ran a 1:12. Epic fail? Yes, I know. As for the long jump...Yikes! In long jump you get three jumps and the farthest one of those three goes up against the farthest of the other jumpers. So on my first jump I scratched (this is track code for failing. In other words I stepped over the line that your not supposed to). Second jump saw me land ten feet away from the toe-board. On my third jump I jumped thirteen feet! Epic win right?!
   If you have ever watched long jumping on TV, then you pretty much know that thirteen feet is nothing short of an embarrassing fail that is similar to Joe Biden when he steps up to a Mic. (Did I really just compare myself to Joe Bidden :O )
   Yes I failed, considering that the beast who won the meet in that event jumped a whopping-state-qualifying 20 feet 3 inches!! When I was done with the event, all my track buddies and coaches were like, 'It's only your first meet, and these guys have been jumping forever'. So I guess it's not too bad. Anyway, track is going well, but I think I am going to change my major (that's not the right word...) to the mile. I guess we'll see how things go. On other things not so much about me :P ... All of our snow is melting!!! This is also code for the roads being muddy with the snow-turned-water, but still ... I can see the grass!!! However brown it may be.
   Oh, and the NCAA division one championships are over. Connecticut won over Butler. The great news is though, that I won the bracket challenge that our family had!! WOOT! I still don't now what the prize will be, if there will be anything (knowing my mother it will probably amount to a quick peck on the cheek).
   For all you socially inept, born in a barn, suspender wearing, computer illiterate home-schoolers, the NCAA actually does stand for something. It stands for The National Collegiate Athletic Association (look it up if you want to know more).
   Also, my youngest brother D.C. (thus named for his illustrious set of double cow-licks on the top of his noggin) just had a swim-meet on Saturday/Sunday. Saturday was also his b-day, and Sunday was Indi's. PARTY!!!!  The meet was in Minneapolis Minnesota. Well, it looks as if my little bro's are going to play jenga 'onyx edition', so I had best quit with my ramblings on. Later ~

2 comments:

  1. Those numbers may be an epic fail to you, but they sound pretty good to me, especially for your first meet! Are you planning on continuing in track next year as well?

    I have a friend who's into running and track and he likes the longer distances too. He can run a pretty fast (in my mind) mile! What are you going to do or what are you doing for training?

    ReplyDelete
  2. Haha thanks! Yeah, I will probably do track again next year. I am having fun so far :P . As far as training goes, the sprinters mainly run short sprints in practice, and the longer distance guys usually run harder for longer. Even though I am running shorter stuff, I have been practicing with the longer distance guys so that I can work myself up to possibly running the mile.

    ReplyDelete